RSS

Murdering the Venn Diagram

16 Aug

When I read about Raskolnikov’s murder of the pawn-broker Alyona Ivanovna and her sister Lizaveta, I immediately thought of another murderer in our WEM past: Bill Sikes from Oliver Twist.  Do you remember Bill and his vicious dog Bullseye?

I thought about how both Sikes and Raskolnikov bludgeoned their victims.  I thought about how both men cut the bloody spots off their clothing.  I thought about how one beat his victim to death in a bloody rage and how the other took a month to plan the details of his crime.

I thought about how Sikes and Raskolnikov were alike and how they were different.
I compared and contrasted them.  Well, I compared and contrasted them as much as my brain could for reading Oliver Twist way back in November and December.  It’s tough to remember all the details.

Speaking of remembering… do you remember grade school?  Do you remember your teacher showing you how to compare and contrast two things using a Venn diagram?
Venn diagram?
The two circle dealie?

It looks like this.

Humor me.  Put Sikes’ name above the left circle and Raskolnikov’s above the right one.  The characteristics, events, or actions they share go in the parts of the circle that intersect.  The men’s differences go in the parts of the circle that aren’t “shared”.

Help me remember the details.  Are our two murderers more alike or different?  Let’s do a little criminology study.  Share Sikes/Raskolnikov details in the comments, and I will fill in the circles.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 16, 2012 in Crime and Punishment, Oliver Twist

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Murdering the Venn Diagram

  1. Amy

    August 16, 2012 at 10:46 am

    I have never read Oliver Twist, so I can’t really add to your Venn Diagram 😦
    But I do find the connection between Dickens and Dostoevsky interesting. Apparently Dostoevsky was imprisoned in Siberia for 4 years, and while there, he read Shakespeare, Dickens, and the latest intellectual essay.
    So keep Raskol in mind when you get to Hamlet too. 🙂

     
  2. Jeannette

    August 16, 2012 at 4:00 pm

    Difference: motives? Rascal’s = hard to determine…was it for the money? Sykes = just plain old anger and revenge. Both probably thought that the people/person they murdered was “beneath them” in a way.

     
  3. Jeannette

    August 16, 2012 at 4:00 pm

    P.S. I always loved Venn Diagrams.

     

Leave a Reply

 
