RSS

Go, Go, Go! You’re almost there!

20 Aug

Norma, Lutheran Mama, and Christina’s husband have crossed the Crime and Punishment finish line.

Some of us are still mid-race looking around desperately for an aid station that has cups of sports drink and bananas.

And it sure wouldn’t hurt if a few family members started cheering us on with signs that say, “You can do it!” and “Keep reading!”

Don’t give up!  Our WEM training won’t let us down.

What mile, I mean, chapter have you finished?

Christine: I made it to Part VI chapter 1.  I’m still consulting my character list occasionally, but the Russian names are getting a little easier for me.

It’s roll call time, so share your place in the comments.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on August 20, 2012 in Crime and Punishment

 

Tags: ,

14 responses to “Go, Go, Go! You’re almost there!

  1. Tonia

    August 20, 2012 at 9:52 am

    Oh, goodness! I’m still way back in part 2! Between vacation and getting used to our school schedule I haven’t tried to fit in much reading time. I NEED to get that time scheduled into my day again! Yikes, I need to catch up with you guys!

     
    • Christine

      August 21, 2012 at 6:08 pm

      There’s no pressure. I have a ways to go before finishing, and I know that there’s still lots about which we can blog. It takes a while to get into that back-to-school routine.

       
  2. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    August 20, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    Part III chapter III. I too have been struggling to find reading time lately! Ugh!

     
    • Christine

      August 21, 2012 at 6:16 pm

      I have to concentrate while reading C&P that all children must be quietly snoozing in their beds for me to be able to focus. Either that or they have to be at swim lessons. My kids are going to be the best swimmers before this WEM project is finished.

       
  3. Sandy

    August 20, 2012 at 2:53 pm

    I finished it on Saturday! : ) Take heart, you can do it! I was way behind, but once I got into it, I honestly enjoyed it and kept reading and reading! It got more interesting when the various characters began to interact more.

    I got so that I could recognize the names on sight, but I wouldn’t be able to produce them (speaking or writing) without consulting my list. I abbreviated them to things like Raz, Svid, and Mr. L.

    Here are some things I noticed coming up again and again – not important, just interesting to me:
    –the phrase “with loathing” is used countless times!
    –frequently characters start to say one thing, then immediately contradict themselves and qualify what they were saying.

     
    • Christine

      August 21, 2012 at 6:12 pm

      Congratulations! Now this is a book you can brag about reading. Yes, I’ve noticed lots of “loathing” and I wonder about the characters’ flip-flopping. Is Dostoyevsky trying to put ideas into his readers’ heads?

       
  4. Christina Joy

    August 20, 2012 at 3:08 pm

    I’m on Part Six Chapter VI and hoping that this evening I can pull myself away from our daily dose of Mad Men to finish the last 50 pages. Yeah, that’s probably not going to happen. But I am trying really hard to finish before the end of the week.

     
    • Christine

      August 21, 2012 at 6:12 pm

      I find that I really need swim lessons to be an hour. I could get so much more reading done.

       
  5. Ruth Lopez

    August 20, 2012 at 6:27 pm

    Part Two Chapter IV. My goal is to finish Part Two today. And I have no excuse to finish this thing by Friday b/c I have nothing major pressing, and our homeschool adventure begins this Saturday; and then my quiet time is gone. That’s my goal. I’m going to stop now and go read.

     
    • Christine

      August 21, 2012 at 6:13 pm

      Blessings as your homeschool adventures resume.

       
  6. Norma carey

    August 21, 2012 at 7:56 am

    The latter parts do seem to move along a little faster! And the epilogue? Ooh, can’t wait to discuss it.

     
    • Christine

      August 21, 2012 at 6:14 pm

      I’m glad to hear it, Norma. But I do dislike epilogues, so this had better be a good one. Oh wait. There are two aren’t there.

       
  7. Stacy

    August 21, 2012 at 9:48 pm

    I’m 69% of the way through. Too sleepy to go look what chapter of what part. So sleepy. 1st graders not as cool as Russian psychoanalyst authors. Zzzzz.

     

Leave a Reply

 
