RSS

Talking to Myself

21 Aug

punchinello – n.  one who resembles a short, fat clown

Classical Usage:  In Part Four Chapter V we get a good taste of Porfiry’s interrogation style.  I think he plays the classic good cop/bad cop routine all by himself.  It’s impressive.  But it’s driving Raskolnikov insane.  Wait.  Maybe Raskolnikov is already insane.  Anywho, Porfiry’s teasing him about something behind the door when Rask finally loses it and shouts, “You’re lying, you damned punchinello!”

Classically Mad Usage:  Are you kidding me?!?  I’m always looking for a good obscure insult.  I’ve never in fact used any of them in an audible fashion.  But in my head, I crack myself up.  Like a punchinello.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 21, 2012 in Crime and Punishment

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Talking to Myself

  1. Stacy

    August 21, 2012 at 9:45 pm

    Ha! I looked that one up immediately and enjoyed it with the utmost relish. I’m so glad we’re sisters.

     

Leave a Reply

 
