RSS

Whew!

27 Aug

How’s it going?

Are you making progress?

Remember that forward is a pace.  Think about how great it will feel to say,
“I read Crime and Punishment this summer.  Yes, that’s right.  It’s by Dostoyevsky.”

Christina, Jeannette and I have all finished the novel, but don’t worry!  There’s still lots of blogging to be done.  I’m not ready to tackle “The Questions” yet, but I do find myself mulling over the last few chapters, considering what it all means.

For those of you still reading, it’s roll call time, so share your place in the comments.

For those of you who have finished the book, you can…
1. Brag about your accomplishment.
2. Take this sparknotes quiz.  I’ll give you a hint.  Know the year C & P was first published.
3. Become frustrated at how many questions you missed, and reread your journal notes before answering “The Questions“.
4. Find your copy of Anna Karenina.  Stew about the fact that it isn’t the recommended translation and decide to order this version.
5.  Read something totally mindless: a magazine, the back or a cereal box, the back-to-school ads.
6. Call your family members by Russian names just to stay in that mindset until we start Anna Karenina.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 27, 2012 in Crime and Punishment

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Whew!

  1. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    August 27, 2012 at 9:03 pm

    I’m done! I missed 3 on the quiz. (I should have checked the date like you said, but I thought I’d wing it. I figured it was after the Civil War since we are reading through WEM chronologically, yet I still missed it.) Really glad I read this book, and at the same time — really glad I’m done!

     
    • Christine

      August 31, 2012 at 7:51 am

      I feel the same way. I kept telling my husband, “I read Crime and Punishment. I read a Russian novel. I’m not sure I liked it, but I read it.”

       

Leave a Reply

 
