RSS

and the winner is…

13 Sep

About a month ago our friend Ruth celebrated reading the first ten WEM novels by ranking them with her own personal system.  I enjoyed reading through the “awards” she bestowed on each title: most entertaining, most relevant, most controversial…  I loved the idea.  Being the wishy-washy girl that I am, I haven’t settled on my own “classic winners and honorable mentions”, but I can tell you what was my absolute favorite chapter of Crime and Punishment.

May I have the envelope please?

drumroll……………

and the winner is… Part VI, chapter 5!

Do you find it strange that in my favorite chapter of C & P Raskolnikov has such a tiny role?

This is the chapter where Svidrigaïlov gives Rask the slip and meets up with Dounia.  The chapter has everything a psychological thriller could want.  There’s the luring of an innocent maiden.  There’s the revealing of the brother-murderer.  A good amount of promising happens that is meant to conceal entrapment.  Threats on both sides make for a most suspenseful chapter ending.

Oh, it’s a great chapter.  And the end!  The End!  Dounia has the revolver.  Svid tells her to shoot…    and she does!  But then she doesn’t.  And he lets her go.

I felt just like Willie Wonka in the movie: “The suspense is terrible… I hope it’ll last.”

Would you agree that this chapter was a winner, or would you have demanded a recount?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 13, 2012 in Crime and Punishment

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “and the winner is…

  1. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    September 13, 2012 at 8:56 am

    Christine, you get the award for my first LOL of the day!!! Yes, come to think of it, that was a pretty good chapter.

    (And Ruth’s post was awesome too!)

     
  2. Ruth Lopez

    September 13, 2012 at 9:53 am

    Thanks, guys!

    True, that was a suspense-filled chapter, but I think my favorite was in the Epilogue; however, I also think I was feeling biased b/c I couldn’t wait for the train wreck to finally end. Huh? Did I just call C&P a train wreck? Yes, I am guilty.

     

Leave a Reply

 
