RSS

Talk to the Hand

21 Sep

My husband and I started Crime and Punishment while on our trip to see my family this summer.  While there, my parents and sister graciously agreed to take our brood so he and I could have a night to ourselves – not for the purpose of reading Doestoevsky, that was just a by-product of our little Anniversary get-away.

Don’t worry, we didn’t waste beautiful Black Hills scenery, a secluded cabin, and honeymoon memories (did I mention that thanks to the generosity of our friends we got to stay in the same place that we inhabited after our wedding ten years ago?  Delightful.) on murder and mayhem.

We saved that for the car ride home.

Have you ever driven across South Dakota and northern Nebraska?  I love those two states, so I’ll refrain from using any negative terms to describe them, but, let’s just say that you won’t miss any breathtaking views if your happen to have your nose in a book for a mile or 100.

So we read, and we read, and we read, and drove and drove and drove.  And I got really good at pronouncing Russian names.  Then we got to Part I Chapter VII.  This shouldn’t come as a surprise, but there’s a murder.  Two, in fact.  They’re gruesome.  Gruesome, and disgusting, and repulsive, and sickening, and horrible, and terrible.

But I kept reading, And Jerry kept driving.  Although he might not have had both hands on the wheel.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 21, 2012 in Crime and Punishment

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Talk to the Hand

  1. Ruth Lopez

    September 21, 2012 at 10:02 pm

    How fun that you and your husband are reading together. And I wish I knew how to read a book in the car instead of get motion sickness because I could certainly get a lot of reading done.

     

Leave a Reply

 
