RSS

Anna Karenina Kick-Off

24 Sep

There still may be a few things left to say about Crime and Punishment, but it’s time to begin our next novel.  Have you started reading?

As Christina, Jeannette, and I compared notes this weekend, we all shared our tips for surviving the latest Russian tome.

Christina:  She’s reading on her kindle and carrying the e-reader at all times.  This allows her to read a page or two when she has a minute here or there.  And that includes reading while brushing her teeth.
Her tip: Use every spare moment you have

Jeannette:  She’s journaling the big stuff.  Have you seen how many chapters there are in this book?  Thirty-four chapters just in Part I.  The chapters aren’t lengthy, but there are times when journaling a short chapter might result in half a sentence.
Her tip: Journal the important events

Me: I’m going to read every day.  I set aside Tolstoy for a few days this week and when I picked it back up I thought, “Oblonsky?  Who’s that?”  I had to go back and reread a few chapters.   Ack!  Those Russian names are out to get me again.  The names in C & P got easier the further into the book I read.  I’m sure the same thing will happen with Anna Karenina.  Plus the added bonus of reading every day is that I’ll be finished with the novel before the movie version arrives in the theater.
My tip: Read every day that you can!  (or cheat and print a list of characters)

It’s a little early to ask each of you to call out your place, so this week share your tips for reading Tolstoy.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 24, 2012 in Anna Karenina

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Anna Karenina Kick-Off

  1. Ruth Lopez

    September 24, 2012 at 9:59 am

    I definitely agree: read everyday. Chapters are short, and that makes it easy to get in a few chapters a day. Since I don’t mind writing in my copy, I find it too easy to just jot a sentence or two about the most important part of the chapter right there in the space between the chapters. Like Jeannette said, sometimes you end up with a half a sentence with such a short chapter. So it fits nicely. (I think I’m just getting lazy about summarizing.)

     
    • Christine

      October 1, 2012 at 3:51 pm

      The short chapters are good for my self-esteem. I feel like I’m making such progress.

       
  2. Tonia

    September 24, 2012 at 10:39 am

    Definitely read every day! I’ve gotten out of the habit and am getting back to it this week.

     
    • Christine

      October 1, 2012 at 3:53 pm

      Ack! I haven’t read yet today.

       
  3. ginagoettlmonge

    September 24, 2012 at 2:35 pm

    I’ve found a list of characters to be very helpful! There are so many characters (and nicknames), it’s hard to keep track of them all. I’ve had to refer to my character list pretty often while I’m reading.

     
    • Christine

      October 1, 2012 at 3:52 pm

      I used to make my character list on an index card and use it as a bookmark. I should do that again. Occasionally I get confused–especially when there is lots of dialogue.

       

Leave a Reply

 
