RSS

A Word to the Wizened

28 Sep

wizened – shriveled and wrinkled with age

Classical Usage:  Christine introduced us to her yesterday.  The furrowed forehead in question belongs to Vronsky’s mother.  Here’s how my old school, Edmonds-translated Penguin edition describes her:  . . . a wizened old lady with black eyes and ringlets . . . 

Classically Mad Usage:  It’s about time I brought back this series, especially in light of this word.  I’m not too proud to admit that when I read ‘wizened’ I didn’t exactly have the right picture in mind of Countess Vronskaya.  I’m also not too wizened to admit that I assumed it meant, um, wise.  Yup.  Not very wize of me.  Well, now you know, if you want to insult me and leave me with a false sense of self-confidence, this word is at your disposal.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 28, 2012 in Anna Karenina

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
