RSS

My vocabulary is inimical.

30 Sep

inimical – adverse, or harmful in effect

Classical Usage:  I didn’t really like Vronsky from the beginning.  His handsome charm seemed like a veil covering who he really was, a player.  Then came Chapter 16 of Part One and the veil was lifted.  What a jerk.  Just listen to this:  Not only did he dislike family life but, in accordance with the views current in the bachelor world in which he lived, he regarded a family, and especially a husband, as something alien, inimical and, worst of all – ridiculous.

Classically Mad Usage:  I’ll tell you what’s inimical, Vronsky.  You.  That’s right, you’re adverse.  Or harmful.  Okay, maybe I don’t totally have a handle on how to use this word correctly yet, but that doesn’t mean that I like the dude any better.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 30, 2012 in Anna Karenina

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “My vocabulary is inimical.

  1. Jeannette

    September 30, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    This was the word I was going to send your way! 🙂

     
  2. Jerry

    October 1, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    Vronsky – If say his name out loud he it speaks for itself. It sounds like something I would say in disgust.

     
    • Christina Joy

      October 1, 2012 at 8:15 pm

      I expect to hear it soon, and by soon I mean sometime in the morning shortly after our youngest son awakes.

       

Leave a Reply

 
