RSS

For the Future

02 Oct

Anna Karenina Part I, chapter 19

Anna is acting as mediator for her brother and sister-in-law.  Oblonsky’s been caught in his relationship with the governess.  Dolly is crushed and wants to break up the family.  Anna has arrived to save the day.

“I fully realize your sufferings, only there is one thing I don’t know; I don’t know… I don’t know how much love there is still in your heart for him.  That you know–whether there is enough for you to be able to forgive him.  If there is, forgive him!”

I hope Anna listened closely to her own words.  Soon.  Very soon.  Her husband will have to consider if there’s enough love in his heart to forgive her.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 2, 2012 in Anna Karenina

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “For the Future

  1. Gina Monge

    October 3, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    Good point! I also think it’s interesting that both Vronsky and Karenin’s first names are Aleksey…

     
    • Christine

      October 3, 2012 at 4:59 pm

      I had noticed Alexey and Alexey (as my translation spells it) as well and found it a little creepy that the men had the same name. Wonder what Tolstoy was trying to say with that?

       

Leave a Reply

 
