RSS

Save a Penny to Spend a Dime

02 Oct

paper-knife – a blunt knife used for slicing open envelopes or the uncut pages of books

Classical Usage:  On her trip back to St. Petersburg Anna had a rough time getting her mind off the ball, so she grabbed a book.  But it wasn’t just a book, it was a book and a paper-knife.  Apparently the pages of her English novel weren’t yet cut, and so she needed the handy-dandy tool, which also doubled as the classic version of a stress relief toy  . . . so she forced herself to read, while her little hands twisted the smooth paper-knife.

Classically Mad Usage:  Do you think if we found some copies of the reading list that needed a paper-knife to be read we could get them for a discount price?  I love a deal.  Plus, I need a good excuse to buy one of these gorgeous pieces.

 

 
11 Comments

Posted by on October 2, 2012 in Anna Karenina

 

Tags: , ,

11 responses to “Save a Penny to Spend a Dime

  1. Christine

    October 2, 2012 at 6:42 am

    Oh, thank you! My footnoteless book failed to explain the reason for the paperknife. (and, shhhh… don’t tell, but I never imagined that the pages wouldn’t be cut)

     
  2. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    October 2, 2012 at 7:00 am

    Funny. I’m working on a post called “Anna Karenina’s Paper Knife”!

     
    • Christina Joy

      October 2, 2012 at 5:40 pm

      Oooh, I can’t wait to read it. Since I’ve started taking notes while I read I think that I treat my pencil much like she handled her paper-knife.

       
  3. Gina Monge

    October 2, 2012 at 8:29 am

    I had this in my notes to look this term up…thanks for posting! 🙂

     
    • Christina Joy

      October 2, 2012 at 5:40 pm

      Anytime, I’m just somewhat relieved that I wasn’t the only person who didn’t know what a paper-knife was.

       

Leave a Reply

 
