RSS

If You Could Choose Only One Person…

07 Oct

…to go shopping with, who would it be?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve actually always wanted someone with style, good taste and a sense of artistry to take me shopping for clothes.  My sister-in-law Erin would be perfect, but sadly, she lives 6 hours away.  I never know what to buy, or how to shop for things that look good on me.   Anna Karenina would be the perfect choice, I think.   The description of her black dress in Part 1, Chapter 22 makes me want to see her in person.   It must have been sensational:  velvet, low-cut, Venetian lace, pansies in her hair, a string of pearls.  But what is most interesting about her clothing choice is the fact that the outfit’s only purpose is to make Anna herself shine.   “…her charm lay precisely in the fact that her personality always stood out from her dress, that her dress was never conspicuous on her…(it) served only as a frame; she alone was noticeable – simple, natural, elegant and at the same time merry and animated.”

That’s it!  Perfect!   Exactly what I wish my clothing would do for me.  Now, if only Anna could accompany me on a shopping trip…

A girl can dream, can’t she?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 7, 2012 in Anna Karenina

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “If You Could Choose Only One Person…

  1. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    October 7, 2012 at 10:00 pm

    Perhaps Anna’s dress was the precursor to the classic “little black dress”. This is the thought that struck me as I read that description.

     

Leave a Reply

 
