RSS

Girl reads Gulliver

12 Oct

This installment of “What’s on my nightstand?” is about a book that’s been on my nightstand for weeks.  Every free moment I have, I’m reading Anna Karenina, so I did what I’ve done before… I pawned the book off on one of my children.  May I present…

Jonathan Swift’s Gulliver
retold by Martin Jenkins and illustrated by Chris Riddell

… and reviewed by this blogger’s daughter.

I chose to read this book because I thought it might be interesting.  The illustrations looked funny. (and because mom asked if anyone wanted to read the book and help her blog about it)

The book is about Gulliver.  He’s a sailor but he ends up going to all of these crazy places like with little tiny people, and huge people, and horses that talk.  He also visits an island and goes to Japan for a little bit.

Gulliver is pretty good in languages to be able to learn all the different ones so quickly.  He’s good with people.  He can talk himself out of the situations he gets himself into. 

My favorite section to read was the giants.  There’s no competition.  You know how girls like to play house with dolls?  That’s what it was like for Gulliver, except he was the doll.

My least favorite section to read was the house with all the ghosts.  I don’t like the idea of people coming back from the dead.  It was creepy how he talked to all the famous people like Alexander the Great.

The illustrations for this version were very good.  They helped you understand the story better.  With the Yahoos, you wouldn’t understand how bizarre they were without seeing the pictures.

I would read the story again.  It was fun to read and see all the places Gulliver went.

Jonathan Swift’s Gulliver… It’s what’s on a blogger’s daughter’s nightstand.

PS.  I, Christine, did quickly peruse the book.  It’s very accurate and the illustrations are a great addition to the story.  Gulliver visits all of the same places as in the original.  Sometimes the book was even a little too accurate–going so far as to include an illustration of the Yahoos in the tree trying to… trying to… well, you remember the ban.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2012 in Gulliver's Travels

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Girl reads Gulliver

  1. Jeannette

    October 12, 2012 at 7:34 am

    Mighty fine review, blogger’s daughter! Thanks!

     
  2. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    October 12, 2012 at 8:59 am

    Excellent job! I’m going to check this out for my kids. Thank you! 🙂

     
  3. Christina Joy

    October 12, 2012 at 11:52 am

    You’ve got one talented blaughter there, Christine. Nicely reviewed.

     
  4. sandybram

    October 12, 2012 at 6:40 pm

    Congrats to your daughter on a great job! : ) Thanks!

     
    • Christine

      October 15, 2012 at 8:27 pm

      Thank you! She was tickled that people commented on “her” post.

       

Leave a Reply

 
