RSS

Name That Character – Again!

21 Oct

You liked it last time, so here we go again!   This one just made me laugh, and will probably be a bit more obvious.   Guess which character is described in the following quotes or hints from Anna Karenina:

This character enjoys “unusually good health.”

This character participates in gymnastics – regularly.

This character looks “as fresh as a big green shining cucumber.”   Ha.  (Don’t think I’ve ever described anyone that way.)

This character has been a bit too familiar with a mandoline.

This character has been seen wearing a pink coat in public.

This character has ridden horses AND elephants.

 

There you go!  Have fun!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2012 in Anna Karenina

 

4 responses to “Name That Character – Again!

  1. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    October 21, 2012 at 2:54 pm

    I think I know . . . you had me at the cucumber.
    But I’ll wait and see what everyone else thinks first.

    BTW, since Veggie Tales has done Madame Bovary (“Madame Blueberry” — as I think Sandy B. pointed out) maybe they’ll take a look at AK next!

     
  2. sandybram

    October 21, 2012 at 11:26 pm

    The cucumber line rang a bell, but I guessed incorrectly. I confess that I checked by googling “Anna Karenina cucumber” and being directed right to the chapter that described this character. Since I cheated, I won’t reveal the answer — anyone remember without resorting to Google? : )

    P.S. My translation said a red coat rather than a pink coat.

     
    • Christine

      October 22, 2012 at 6:21 pm

      I’m cheating too, Sandy. I’m using the search on the kindle. I remember the description, but not the name! Guess my notetaking on the character list isn’t up to snuff. I pledge to do better, so keep the “Name the Character” posts coming, Jeannette!

       
  3. Christina Joy

    October 22, 2012 at 10:42 pm

    Yes, I’m embarrassed to say that I also recalled the cucumber, but couldn’t put a face with it (well, other than Larry Boy, but that’s been covered.) But I don’t remember a pink coat or elephants at all. Yikes.

     

Leave a Reply

 
