RSS

In the Dark, As Usual

18 Dec

Classic Word of the DayI have two full columns of vocabulary words on which I should be doing Classic Word of the Day posts.  But alas, I am not.  Maybe I will, maybe I won’t.  I don’t really know (either the meaning of the words, or my intent with them.)  Part of the issue lies within my indecision about how to handle words that are already in the glossary.  So, if you have opinions, please share them.

In the time being I thought I would define one word that did cause me to branch into a little research:

palings – n.  upright sticks making a fence

Classical Usage:  There’s a paling around the Yeobright’s home, and Hardy seems to mention the picketish fence quite a bit.  I wanted to see for myself, so I used the age-old Google Imaging trick and found this little depiction of one by none other than Rembrandt.

Cottage with a white paling

Classically Mad Usage:  I told my good blog friends about my Rembrandt discovery and they informed me that there are more Rembrandt connections in the novel, more studies of light and dark.  Then I found one where Rembrandt was actually mentioned by name. Then I lost my note of where it was.

So, can you help me out.  Where in the shadows and light is Rembrandt hiding?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 18, 2012 in The Return of the Native

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “In the Dark, As Usual

  1. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    December 18, 2012 at 12:19 pm

    It’s good to see “Classic Word of the Day” again. And Rembrandt — hmmm . . . He just might have to be my official artist for The Return of the Native. Wiki-paintings, here I come. 🙂

     
  2. April

    December 18, 2012 at 2:17 pm

    Just came across it- Book 2, VI. Eustacia has just arrived at the Yeobright home to do the little “play”. When she spots Clym, “The spectacle constituted an area of two feet in Rembrandt’s intensest manner”

     

Leave a Reply

 
