RSS

Until Death Parts Us

08 Jan

There are pros and cons to being a church organists.  For instance, I get to attend a far larger number of weddings than the average person.  I also attend far more funerals.

Which is why when the two events became part of the bonfire-side conversation in Book First-Chapter III my pencil was busy writing margin notes:

“Ah, now, you’d hardly believe it, but I don’t care for . . .* weddings “

“Me neither,” I scribbled along side Timothy Fairway’s comment.  In particular, he’s not so crazy about the obligatory dancing that occurs at the nuptial reception.  I don’t mind cutting the rug with my husband at these events.  I can celebrate good times with the best of them.  My objection is typically focused on wedding ceremonies that dwarf, mask, or even do away with the Divine Service in which they are blessed to be contained.  I’ll quickly step off my soap box now and move us on to the next quote:

“For my part I like a good hearty funeral as well as anything.”

“YES!  You tell ’em!  Amen, Brother Fairway!”  I’m not afraid to admit it.  I love a funeral.  The hymns.  The singing.  The repetition of the Easter greeting, “He is risen!  He is risen indeed, Alleluia!”  The preaching of our death and resurrection being tied directly to the death and resurrection of Christ.  The organ confidently playing “take they our life, goods, fame, child, and wife . . .our victory has been won!”   The warm ham sandwiches.

Um, yeah, that’s where those guys stoking the fire on the heath and I really bonded.  They like funerals for their good food.

“You’ve as splendid victuals and drink as at other parties, and even better.  And it don’t wear your legs to stumps in talking over a poor fellow’s ways as it do to stand up in hornpipes.”

He’s right. Oh, those funeral luncheons are so yummy.  The ladies at our church used to make super melty buns of goodness.  They still throw an exceptional repast, but these sandwhiches have been retired.  But that doesn’t mean they shouldn’t be made.

And so today I share with you what was formerly called the “Funeral Sandwich” with it’s updated moniker.  Please make them for someone you love, before they ask you to dance.

Yummy Hot and Smooshy Buns for Occasions
More Lively and Happy Than Death with Ham

The above picture is from my dear friend who has an actual food blog, with actual recipes.  You can click on it and go read her latest yummy post.

The above Funeral Sandwiches were made by my dear friend who has an actual food blog, with actual recipes. You can click on it and go read her latest yummy post.

1/2 cup butter, softened
2 small onions, grated
2 Tbs. poppy seeds
4 tsp. Worchestershire Sauce
4 tsp. prepared mustard
16 oz. fully cooked ham, thinly sliced
8 oz. swiss cheese, shredded
1 dozen sandwich buns

Mix the first 5 ingredients.  Spread on buns.  Layer buns with ham and cheese.  Wrap in foil and heat in the oven at some temperature for about so long. (Recipe details have never been my strong suit.)

Unwrap, and eat as if they’ll be serving them at your funeral the next day.

*Yup, if you’re reading along you probably know what word I happily omitted.  And can you blame me?  You think I’m going to open that can of worms here?  I don’t think so.

ETA:  A friend checked her mother’s handwritten recipe for the sandwiches and discovered this helpful information:  “Wrap each sandwich in foil and place on large cookie sheet. Bake at 350°F for 17-20 minutes.”

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 8, 2013 in The Return of the Native

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Until Death Parts Us

  1. David Fleming

    January 8, 2013 at 9:15 pm

    Preach it Sister! Preach it!
    He is risen indeed! Alleluia!
    Amen!

     

Leave a Reply

 
