RSS

The Portrait of a Lady

14 Jan

POAL

New novel time is so exciting!  Who will we meet?  Where will we go?  When will we encounter some plot?  Oh, wait… that was a little reference to our last book The Return of the Native .  We do still have a few things to say about Hardy’s novel, but now it’s time to officially dive into Henry James’ The Portrait of a Lady.

So… Who have you met?
Where have you gone?
What elements of plot have you encountered?

Better yet… no spoilers.

Just give us your place in the comments.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2013 in The Portrait of a Lady

 

Tags: ,

14 responses to “The Portrait of a Lady

  1. Norma carey

    January 14, 2013 at 8:01 am

    Re: Return of the Native – How was I suppose to feel about Eustacia?

     
    • Christina Joy

      January 15, 2013 at 1:10 pm

      Norma, I promise we’ll talk about that in the wrap-up, if my internet ever works long enough in the evenings at home for me to get the post completed.

       
  2. Ruth

    January 14, 2013 at 10:23 am

    I am hoping to begin chapter 30 today of The Portrait of a Lady. I thought it was interesting that this book was published (and set about 1881) the same year that Laura Ingalls and her family almost starved and froze to death during the Long Winter. I don’t know why I keep that in perspective while I am reading about these Americans galavanting over Europe. Just some trivia!

     
    • Adriana @ Classical Quest

      January 15, 2013 at 7:46 pm

      Oh my heavens. Lump in my throat. Glad you shared that info Ruth!

       
    • Christine

      January 18, 2013 at 10:08 am

      I really should make myself a time line to connect these books to historical events.

       
  3. Jeannette

    January 14, 2013 at 10:47 am

    Wow! Interesting tidbit, Ruth. I like keeping things in perspective, so thanks! You are way ahead of me. I’m at Chapter 15. Stomach virus attacked our house last week. Sigh – real life intervenes.

     
  4. Jeannette

    January 14, 2013 at 10:47 am

    Btw, nice picture, Christine!

     
  5. AprilApril

    January 14, 2013 at 11:04 am

    I am in Chapter 10. I just met Henrietta. I think she will be my friend in this tale.

     
    • Christine

      January 18, 2013 at 10:09 am

      I’m curious about how much Hentrietta we’ll see in the novel.

       
  6. Tonia

    January 14, 2013 at 3:37 pm

    Starting chap. 14 today.

     
  7. Norma carey

    January 14, 2013 at 3:39 pm

    OK – help me out here – (I am up to chapter 20 and taking a time-out because I borrowed The Racketeer!). In chapter 15 isabel tells Ralph, ” I’m a good deal like Henrietta…I too wish to see Europe.” And on the next page, she tells him,”I’m not in the least an adventurous spirit.”
    I do like these young ladies even though it is hard for me to go back to my “younger days” but I remember being way too impressionable and yet at the same time, thinking I was extremely open minded! I know I am going to enjoy observing their escapades as well as the interesting people they meet along the way. I actually want to keep reading this one! (Is it too early to be making these observations?) Perhaps I shall now remain quiet and just soak it all in!

     
  8. Patty Sessions

    January 14, 2013 at 6:06 pm

    I finished chapter 14. yay!

     
  9. Gina Monge

    January 15, 2013 at 10:32 am

    I’m behind….just getting started!

     
  10. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    January 15, 2013 at 7:45 pm

    Sorry I forgot to check in yesterday! I’m half way through Chapter 15.

     

Leave a Reply

 
