RSS

Stupid Question about Sauce

16 Jan

The Portrait of a Lady volume 1, chapter 3

Mrs. Touchett is separated from her husband.  She has a long list of reasons why she doesn’t live in England.  Here’s one of the reasons.

She detested bread-sauce, which as she said, looked like a poultice and tasted like soap…

Bread-sauce?  What’s bread-sauce?

I’m familiar with applesauce.  I’ve even canned pearsauce but bread-sauce?

I googled it and found a recipe.

What I want to know is if any of you have consumed or prepared this classic British dish.

 

 

 

 
9 Comments

Posted by on January 16, 2013 in The Portrait of a Lady

 

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “Stupid Question about Sauce

  1. Melissa

    January 16, 2013 at 1:27 pm

    Bread sauce does not look as though it will be added to my recipe box. But it doesn’t seem to be a separartion causer.

     
    • Christine

      January 18, 2013 at 10:11 am

      It is a silly reason to keep them apart, isn’t it.

       
  2. Liz Brissett Martin

    January 16, 2013 at 1:42 pm

    Not me, but I’d be very interested to hear who has and what the results are. Based on the recipe, I’m with Mrs. Touchett.

     
    • Christine

      January 18, 2013 at 10:12 am

      I have no desire to even try it. I’m not a big gravy fan.

       
  3. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    January 16, 2013 at 6:11 pm

    I’m with Mrs. Touchett on the bread sauce — gross!

     
    • Christine

      January 18, 2013 at 10:13 am

      In grade school I remember having chipped beef on toast for lunch. I hated it. And breadsauce sounds even worse to me… Wet soggy bread/gravy w/o meat. No, thanks!

       
  4. Jeannette

    January 17, 2013 at 12:33 pm

    I’m a big fan of bread pudding, but bread sauce?? Nope. Don’t think so.

     
    • Christine

      January 18, 2013 at 10:12 am

      Oh, I remember your chocolate bread pudding. Now that I could go for.

       

Leave a Reply

 
