RSS

Tea for Two, or Tea for Three

18 Jan

Classic Word of the Dayvotaries – n.  dedicated follower or advocate

Classical Usage:  In the opening scene of Chapter I we see a group gathered around afternoon tea, but it isn’t the kind of group you might expect.  Nope, these are men.  The persons concerned in it were taking their pleasure quietly, and they were not of the sex which is supposed to furnish the regular votaries of the ceremony I have mentioned.

Classically Mad Usage:  This novel and new year I am turning over an old leaf.  Once again I will be a votary to the Classic Word of the Day.  If I run out of words I’ll go back and give you some from The Return of the Native.  Goodness knows, there were enough there.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 18, 2013 in The Portrait of a Lady

 

2 responses to “Tea for Two, or Tea for Three

  1. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    January 18, 2013 at 8:16 am

    Woot!!! As one of your biggest votaries, I’m screaming, jumping up and down, and doing “the wave”. 😀

     
    • Christina Joy

      January 19, 2013 at 1:03 pm

      I’ll do my best to keep it up, I’d hate to see the one woman wave dissipate.

       

Leave a Reply

 
