RSS

Subtle Humor Wins Again

19 Jan

Classic Word of the Dayinvidious – adj.  likely to arouse resentment or anger

Classical Usage:  In Chapter I we meet “the old gentleman,” but before we learn his name we learn of his background and character.  It [his face] seemed to tell that he had been successful in life, yet it seemed to tell also that his success had not been exclusive and invidious, but had much the of the inoffensiveness of failure.

Classically Mad Usage:  It’s sentences like the above that make me enjoy Mr. James’ writing, which is good, because sometime the extreme lack of plot makes me a touch on the invidious side.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 19, 2013 in The Portrait of a Lady

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “Subtle Humor Wins Again

  1. Cheryl

    January 19, 2013 at 10:11 am

    I took an entire semester of graduate credit in James many years ago. That was enough to last a lifetime (or three).

     
  2. Patty Sessions

    January 19, 2013 at 12:43 pm

    I’m on page 329 and practically nothing has happened. I enjoy it so long as I don’t let myself remember that nothing much is happening. 🙂

     
    • Christina Joy

      January 19, 2013 at 1:08 pm

      Yes, I’m always a little shocked when I’ve read a chapter for an entire half and hour and I can summarize it in one simple sentence. Maybe I should wait until the end of the book and write a three sentence summary. That should about cover it.

       

Leave a Reply

 
