RSS

Fits the BIL

20 Jan

Classic Word of the Dayjocosely – adv.  jokingly

Classical Usage:  We just get a teensy glimpse into Isabel’s relationship with her brother-in-law in Chapter IV, but it seems like a fairly funny one.  After a sharp little remark about our heroine, Edward Ludlow’s wife, Isabel’s sister, responds to her husband, “If I were not sure you only said that for argument I should feel very badly, . . .But you know you love her”  “Do you know I love you?” the young man said, jocosely, to Isabel a little later, while he brushed his hat.  “I’m sure I don’t care whether you do or not”! exclaimed the girl.

Classically Mad Usage:  I have a brother-in-law that I’m just waiting to use this word on.  We can never tell if he’s seriously, or jocosely giving us information.  We do love him, though.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 20, 2013 in The Portrait of a Lady

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
