RSS

Nothing Special to See Here

21 Jan

Classic Word of the Dayprosaic – adj.  dull, everyday, ordinary

Classical Usage:  Upon Isabel’s arrival at Gardencourt she is anxious to explore the house.  Ralph attempts to curb her enthusiasm in Chapter V. “It’s not a romantic old house,” said Ralph.  “You’ll be disappointed if you count on that.  It’s a dismally prosaic one; there’s no romance here but what you may have brought with you.”

Classically Mad Usage:  Sometimes the CWOD is a word I’ve never heard, sometimes it’s one I’ve chosen for it’s unique or relevant qualities, and every once in a while the word is one I’ve been misusing and miscontextualizing my whole life.  I don’t want to reveal the nature of this particular selection, but I can guarantee you won’t be hearing me say , “My, what a prosaic sunset!” or “Pastor, your sermon was just prosaic today”  anymore.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 21, 2013 in The Portrait of a Lady

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
