RSS

The Annotated Huckleberry Finn

22 Feb

_annotated_uncle_toms_cabin_Do you remember when The Annotated Uncle Tom’s Cabin sat on my nightstand?  It was an absolutely beautiful book, and I wished I had been able to spend longer perusing its pages.  But my timing was off.  We were reading Crime and Punishment.  I didn’t have time to go back and reread Uncle Tom’s Cabin.  I couldn’t go back to the south and slavery.  I had a Russian double-homicide to investigate.
And so The Annotated UTC sat on my nightstand, sadly neglected.

But, look what I picked up at the library today!Annotated-Finn

The Annotated Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
Edited with an introduction and notes by Michael Patrick Hearn

Go ahead!  Click on the picture of the book and make use of Amazon’s “search inside this book feature“.

100_8410

I think this is one “What’s on my nightstand?” book that will get plenty of attention.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 22, 2013 in The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “The Annotated Huckleberry Finn

  1. Patty Sessions

    February 22, 2013 at 10:03 am

    I *almost* checked that edition out. But it’s so huge and heavy…please report on how worthwhile it is!

     
    • Christine

      February 23, 2013 at 6:47 am

      I spent some time reading the annotations last night. It really is a treasure, but I’m also wondering if I’m cheating a little by reading all the “extras”. So much for figuring anything out on my own!

       

Leave a Reply

 
