RSS

It’s Adventure Time!

25 Feb

Huck Finn Check-in

It is called The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, you know.

So what’s the adventure in the chapter you are reading?

Wait.  Don’t tell me.  I want no promos or previews.  No sneak peeks or spoilers.
I’m enjoying Twain so much.  I needed a change from the desperate housewives we’ve been reading about for the past few novels.  This book makes me feel like spring has already come to Michigan.

Fellow adventurers, please share your chapter in the comments.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2013 in The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

 

Tags: ,

12 responses to “It’s Adventure Time!

  1. Cheryl

    February 25, 2013 at 8:13 am

    Enjoy! This is probably my favorite book of all time.

     
    • Jeannette

      February 25, 2013 at 9:37 am

      Oh, Cheryl…where were you when we were doing our wrap up of Portrait? We really wanted to fly you over. 🙂

       
    • Christine

      February 26, 2013 at 2:35 pm

      Thanks. I’m enjoying it so far. It’s refreshing after the last few novels.

       
  2. Gina Monge

    February 25, 2013 at 9:06 am

    I’m on chapter 10!

     
  3. Ruth @ Experiment with The Well-Educated Mind

    February 25, 2013 at 9:52 am

    I totally agree, Christine. It’s great to be a kid again!

     
    • Ruth @ Experiment with The Well-Educated Mind

      February 25, 2013 at 9:56 am

      OK, wait. I wrote that in the present tense. I’m done with HF, but I decided to read the prequel, The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, and it is written in the same spirit. Mark Twain portrays the heart of a young boy perfectly. So, I feel like I am still experiencing it.

       
  4. Patty Sessions

    February 25, 2013 at 10:48 am

    I finished chapter 18. I am enjoying this book so much! It’s *fun*! (Except for the not-fun parts, but those are good too). Ruth, if you want to continue there are a couple of weird sequels, like Tom Sawyer, Detective, and Tom Sawyer Abroad (which is kind of Jules Vern-esque). Tom, Huck, and Jim have adventures. This is from my review last year–

    The fun thing about these stories is the interaction between Tom, Huck, and Jim. Tom fancies himself to be pretty educated, and indeed he is a smart kid, but he’s a living example of Pope’s “a little learning is a dangerous thing.” He pontificates (badly) and condescends to Huck and Jim, whose earthy common sense rebuttals often leave him confounded–or else stunned into silence.

     
    • Ruth @ Experiment with The Well-Educated Mind

      February 26, 2013 at 8:12 am

      Wonderful! I think Mark Twain is becoming one of my favorite authors. I will definitely look into those, as well as some of his more serious journals on traveling. Thanks.

       
    • Christine

      February 26, 2013 at 2:36 pm

      Hey! We’re on the same chapter!

       
  5. Jeannette

    February 25, 2013 at 7:29 pm

    Chapter 23. I feel like I’m flying after POAL. It’s so enjoyable that sometimes I forget that there is serious stuff going on too.

     
  6. Norma carey

    February 25, 2013 at 8:55 pm

    Just for fun I have been reading some of the chapters aloud and the emotions (funny, anger, sad, etc.) just seem more pronounced. I keep thinking back to those high school forensics contes
    ts and HF would have definitely offered some colorful presentations.

     
  7. Christina Joy

    February 26, 2013 at 5:22 pm

    I’m on chapter 18, too! Although I’m posting this a day late, so that probably doesn’t count.

     

Leave a Reply

 
