RSS

Huckleberry Eats Humble Pie

04 Mar

Well, if I thought Jim showed some simple wisdom back in Chapter 14, now that I’ve finished Chapter 15, I’m sure of it.

Long story short, Huck plays a mean trick on Jim, making him think that he only dreamed something that actually happened.   It takes Jim a while to catch on, but when he does, the words he speaks would make anyone regret their actions.   Even a smart-aleky kid.

When I got all wore out wid work, en wid de callin’ for you, en went to sleep, my heart wuz mos’ broke bekause you wuz los’, en I didn’ k’yr no’ mo’ what become er me en e raf’.  En when I wake up en fine you back ag’in, all safe en soun’, de tears come, en I could ‘a’ got down on my knees en kiss yo’ foot, I’s so thankful.   En all you wuz thinkin’ ’bout wuz how you could make a fool uv ole Jim wid a lie.   Dat truck dah is trash; en trash is what people is dat puts dirt on de head er dy fren’s en makes ’em ashamed.

To Huck’s credit, he reacts pretty well to being called “trash” by his former slave companion.   I guess he needed a good dose of the Law.   His conscience does seem to be pretty active  (more on that in a future post, I think).   It only took 15 minutes for him to go “humble himself” and declare that he would never play another mean trick again.

 

Leave a Reply

 
