RSS

When Hobbies Collide

22 Mar

Before I crash into bed for some serious reading, I spend about an hour every evening simultaneously hitting refresh hoping my internet will muster up enough gumption to allow me to write a post, watching old reality TV or BBC productions with my hubsters, sipping a glass of boxed merlot, and knitting.

I love to knit.  It’s calming in its rhythm.  It’s calculated in its patterns.  And most of all, it makes me feel productive during the laziest part of the day.

There are only two stiches in knitting:  the knit stitch, and the purl stitch.  Everything else is just a variant on one of those two.  In fact, if you want to get really picky, the purl stitch is nothing but the opposite of the knit stitch.

A knit stitch produces that smooth knitted fabric we’re all familiar with.

Knit Stitches

And the purl stitch produces those bumps that warn you that your sweater is inside out before someone else spots your tag.

Purl Stitches

But those purl bumps have other uses, usually to give garments dimension and interest.  And if you are as clever as Stephen Crane you can also be stitch them together into a rich literary fabric such as this one from the first paragraph of The Red Badge of Courage:

Purl quote.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 22, 2013 in The Red Badge of Courage

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “When Hobbies Collide

  1. Adriana

    March 22, 2013 at 9:08 am

    I’m trying to “like” this post and for some reason my little image isn’t showing up. Oh well. I like it!
    I took YouTube lessons a few years ago and learned to knit. I can do the knit and the purl stitches. I could hypothetically make a scarf, but all I ever made was a doll blanket! Oh and we drink our wine out of a box too. 😉

     
    • Adriana

      March 22, 2013 at 9:10 am

      I guess I wasn’t logged in to WordPress. Duh. heehee I clicked “like” like 10X!

       
    • Christina Joy

      March 24, 2013 at 3:15 pm

      Thanks, and thanks too for inspiring the idea of cyber-samplers.

       

Leave a Reply

 
