RSS

Darkness

03 Apr

HoDIt’s time to begin another voyage.  This time we’re going on a trip deep into Africa.  I’m not quite sure about what we should pack.  I do suggest bringing a flashlight because the title of our next book is Heart of Darkness .

In Joseph Conrad’s book we’ll be discussing colonialism.  We’ll be asked to consider what makes a man civilized and what makes him a barbarian.

Sparknotes says that foreshadowing “permeates every moment of the narrative—mostly operates on the level of imagery, which is consistently dark, gloomy, and threatening.”

Dark, gloomy, and threatening“?  I think I’ll pack two flashlights.  And extra batteries.

Find your copy of Heart of Darkness and get ready to join us.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Here’s the link up to the free Kindle version.
SWB recommends The Modern Library Classics and the Dover Thrift Edition.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on April 3, 2013 in Heart of Darkness

 

Tags: , ,

11 responses to “Darkness

  1. lauratfrey

    April 3, 2013 at 9:47 am

    It’s a great book. The racism is difficult to take. And I suppose you know how it ends, but it will still leave you gasping!

     
    • Christine

      April 7, 2013 at 8:56 pm

      Gasping? Interesting. I look forward to it.

       
  2. dangermom

    April 3, 2013 at 1:16 pm

    Hum. I just read Eliot’s Hollow Men, so now I know a lot more about this book (which inspired the poem and this sentence is getting very convoluted). However, I don’t think I’m going to join in for this one–there are too many other books demanding my attention just now, but I’ll join you for the next one.

     
    • Christine

      April 7, 2013 at 8:56 pm

      I’ve never heard of Hollow Men. Something else to add to my ever-growing, to-be-read list

       
  3. ebookclassics

    April 4, 2013 at 5:19 am

    I just finished Conrad’s The Secret Agent and enjoyed it more than I thought I would. Heart of Darkness is on my list, so might as well jump in with some good company. Count me in!

     
  4. Ruth @ Experiment with The Well-Educated Mind

    April 4, 2013 at 10:26 am

    I just learned that Conrad ran in literary circles with Henry James and Stephen Crane. Susan Wise Bauer just keeps those connections coming.

     
    • Christine

      April 7, 2013 at 8:58 pm

      I think I have a Conrad quote in my preface to Red Badge of Courage.

       
  5. Norma carey

    April 4, 2013 at 11:05 am

    Two used copies at Schuler’s. My copy (from MSU 1961) is pretty beat up! Once again, I wrote notes in my copy which means I must have “studied” it (or didn’t!) because I will be reading it as one reading it for the first time!

     
    • Christine

      April 7, 2013 at 8:57 pm

      How fun to reread your own notes years later. I think I’ll look back on mine and think, “What was I thinking?!”

       
  6. ebookclassics

    April 5, 2013 at 8:27 pm

    Ack! I was wrong and it’s not on my book list. Sorry ladies! I’m still determined to read with you one of these days.

     
    • Christine

      April 7, 2013 at 8:57 pm

      We look forward to it!

       

Leave a Reply

 
