RSS

Learning with Less of the Same

08 Apr

It’s working!  This classical education business is starting to sink in!

Yesterday evening I was washing dishes and thinking about a large knitting project that I recently started.  Because of the week’s circumstances, and most importantly because I made the huge discovery that if I balance my kindle on my knee I can read AND knit, I’ve made a fair amount of progress on this monster endeavor.  I was pretty happy with myself, and the following thought went through my head,

I’m knitting with great alacrity.

Yes!  I thought the word alacrity.  And don’t they always say that when you’ve really mastered a foreign language you begin to think in it as well as speak it?  My friends, I’m mastering English!  Hoorah!

Let’s not talk about how it’s my native tongue, okay?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 8, 2013 in The Blog

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Learning with Less of the Same

  1. Adriana

    April 8, 2013 at 7:40 am

    Woot Woot! Happy dance! Oh yeah!

    Thinking in English and knitting at the same time!!! YES!

     
  2. Ruth @ Experiment with The Well-Educated Mind

    April 8, 2013 at 10:08 am

    I was just thinking how awesome that you could actually read and knit at the same time.

     
  3. Christina Joy

    April 8, 2013 at 9:31 pm

    I’m telling you, ladies, it was like Christmas In April around here when I made that discovery. Columbus and the New World have nothing on me. Penicillin, sliced bread, electricity – bah! Those things are old news – I can knit AND read!!!!

     
  4. Jeannette

    April 9, 2013 at 5:45 pm

    Love the biological reference, CJ. Penicillin – nice! That is some amazing multi-tasking.

     

Leave a Reply

 
