RSS

Introducing Lily Bart

22 Apr

House of Mirth Check-in

Have you started The House of Mirth?  Have you met Lily Bart?

What did you think of our main character?

She’s not a boy on a raft, a young soldier in the middle of a battle, or a steamboat captain telling tales from his past.  I’m enjoying having a female protagonist.  Reading The House of Mirth is a little bit like being dropped into an American version of Downton Abbey. 

Have any initial thoughts to share about the book?  Leave them and your place in the comments.

 

 
11 Comments

Posted by on April 22, 2013 in The House of Mirth

 

Tags: ,

11 responses to “Introducing Lily Bart

  1. April

    April 22, 2013 at 8:55 pm

    Barely through the first chapter….9 characters already? 10 new vocab words and counting: desultory, mignonette, prig, bounder, axioms, gigot sleeves, pallour, bezique, dryad, sylvan freedom.

    I am looking forward to this one!

     
    • Christina Joy

      April 26, 2013 at 8:54 pm

      Oh my. I should get back on the Classic Word of the Day habit. I didn’t write down any of those, and yet out of context most of them are stumping me. *sigh* I’ll see what I can do about that.

       
  2. Patty Sessions

    April 22, 2013 at 11:09 pm

    I have finished chapter 4. First I liked Lily pretty well. Then I developed quite a lot of contempt for her–I really dislike people who feel entitled to wealth. I suppose she can’t help it.

    I was interested by a mention of her cousins’ engravings of Cole’s “Voyage of Life,” and it was a series of paintings. See them here: http://www.explorethomascole.org/tour/items/73/series/ I’ve never heard of Cole before this week, but my recent reading of Last of the Mohicans introduced me to him, since he painted a scene from that novel. (He was one of those painters who did huge landscapes with teeny little people, and you’re supposed to be able to understand what they’re up to but they’re so teeny!)

     
    • Christina Joy

      April 26, 2013 at 8:56 pm

      Very interesting – plus a bonus Pilgrim’s Progress! It always amazes me out far reaching and connected all these works are.

       
  3. Norma carey

    April 23, 2013 at 7:13 am

    OK – lately I have been way ahead and now I am going to be far behind – big garage sale week!

     
  4. michelle

    April 23, 2013 at 8:43 am

    Patty, thank you for posting the link to the Cole work – fascinating!!

     
  5. Tonia

    April 23, 2013 at 10:10 am

    Just finished chapter 5. The book is interesting but I don’t think it’s going to have a happy ending.

     
    • Christine

      April 26, 2013 at 7:56 am

      I’m starting to wonder about the title. Where’s the Mirth?

       
  6. An Experiment with the Well-Educated Mind

    April 23, 2013 at 12:38 pm

    I think I am supposed to begin Chapter 7, but w/ sick kids for a week, I haven’t read in several days.

     
    • Jeannette

      April 27, 2013 at 2:58 pm

      So sorry, Ruth. Hope they are all better now.

      And, spring craziness is putting me only at Chapter 12.

       

Leave a Reply

 
