RSS

Kindle Conundrum

28 Apr

How many of you read our WEM books on an e-reader?

I go back and forth.  I think Uncle Tom’s Cabin is the only book I read solely on the Kindle.  For all of the other titles I have used a mix of paper copy and Kindle.  There are advantages and disadvantages to each.

Here’s my latest conundrum…

As a faithful WEM student, I am supposed to mark up my books: highlight, fold corners, jot down notes.  I can do all of that with my e-reader.  In chapter one of The House of Mirth  I found a beautiful quote that I wanted to share and discuss.

She was so evidently the victim of the civilization which had produced her, that the links of her bracelet seemed like manacles chaining her to her fate.

Great imagery: “bracelet seemed like manacles“.

349 other people have highlighted that quote.

Why avoid spoilers and skip introductions?
How will I learn to discern what’s important if I see 349 other people telling me, “Look here.  Copy this down.  It’s important!”?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 28, 2013 in The House of Mirth

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Kindle Conundrum

  1. Adriana

    April 28, 2013 at 9:33 pm

    I know what you mean. I have only read one WEM book on my Kindle — The Scarlet Letter. It was OK. I probably won’t do it again unless I must. I love my Kindle for side reading though. Sometimes I wonder if most people are just jumping on the band wagon when they highlight stuff that has already been highlighted a few hundred times. There is often a great quote in the near vicinity that is untouched. It’s kind of funny.

     
  2. Patty Sessions

    April 28, 2013 at 11:06 pm

    I prefer the paper books. I don’t think I’ve read any WEM titles on my tablet, but I have checked them out of the library sometimes!

     
  3. Tonia

    April 29, 2013 at 12:41 pm

    Is it possible to turn off that feature? I use an ereader (Kobo Vox) and don’t run into that problem.

     
  4. michelle

    May 3, 2013 at 11:49 am

    I use my Kindle for everything, as carpal tunnel won’t allow me to hold a paper book for long. I keep all notes and highlights turned off. I do find the occasional typos annoying, as corrections don’t seem to arrive until AFTER I’ve finished a book!

     

Leave a Reply

 
