RSS

Would you have been friends with Lily Bart?

06 May

House of Mirth Check-in

How did your reading go this week?
Did the spring weather lure you away from our New York socialites?

I have to say that I’m a little concerned about the choices Lily’s making.  I wonder if I would have been friends with her.  Would I have been drawn in by her endearing qualities, as so many of the characters are, or would I have seen her as a living version of the tabloid covers and run from all of the drama?  Hmmm…

Have you finished Book 1?  Are you in the midst of Book 2?
Please share your place in the comments.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 6, 2013 in The House of Mirth

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Would you have been friends with Lily Bart?

  1. Jean @ Howling Frog

    May 6, 2013 at 10:54 am

    I think I would be envious of Lily’s beauty, and would not be friends with her but would wish I looked like her! I found her really, really hard to like.

    I finished the book, review here: http://howlingfrog.blogspot.com/2013/05/house-of-mirth.html

     
  2. Christina Joy

    May 6, 2013 at 8:50 pm

    I’m at Chapter 5 of Book 2 . . . I think. I still like Lily. More and more she’s reminding me of Eustacia – innocent, yet not very good at appearing to be so.

     
  3. Jeannette

    May 7, 2013 at 2:04 pm

    Just finished Chapter 6 of Book 2…this one’s going slowly for me. It might be the weather. It might be my to-do list. It might be the tiring oscillations of Lily’s fate. Not sure which.

     

Leave a Reply

 
