RSS

Four Years I Never Want to Repeat

10 May

Oh yes, my friends.   I’m getting flashbacks.

It’s a rough world.   Every day you agonize over what to wear, what to say (or not to say), what’s in your lunch, and what social consequences will fall on your unsuspecting head today.   One day you think you are doing well and everyone is on your side and the next, everyone hates you and talks behind your back.   Appearances are everything.   The people you associate with can be your lifeline or possibly your curse.   Cliques.   Clubs.   Drugs and alcohol.   Snobbery.  Hypocrisy.   Depression.

Perhaps I’m painting a darker picture than reality here, but is anyone else getting flashbacks to…

HIGH SCHOOL?

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 10, 2013 in The House of Mirth

 

4 responses to “Four Years I Never Want to Repeat

  1. Ruth @ Experiment with The Well-Educated Mind

    May 10, 2013 at 11:22 am

    Yes, I am. Maybe it is more exaggerated within high society, but I know a few Bertha Dorsets in my life right now. And they are not even females. Sometimes I think some adults are just oversized teenagers and Facebook is just a huge high school cafeteria.

     
    • Christina Joy

      May 10, 2013 at 12:26 pm

      “Facebook is just a huge school cafeteria.” A sad ‘Amen’ to that one, my friend.

       
    • Jeannette

      May 10, 2013 at 2:44 pm

      Too true, Ruth. But at least we can turn off the computer and pretend it doesn’t exist. I’ll take virtual cafeteria over real cafeteria any day.

       
  2. Christina Joy

    May 10, 2013 at 12:25 pm

    Oh my goodness, yes.

     

Leave a Reply

 
