RSS

Stupid Question: The Husband Edition

15 May

Stupid QuestionsLast night my beloved posed a question for which I had no good response, therefore I’m passing it on to you, dear readers:

Why did we read House of Mirth when Edith Wharton penned a Pulitzer Prize winning novel, The Age of Innocence?

It’s a legitimate question.  What little research I’ve done purports that she wrote AOI as an “apology” for HOM.  So, did we read her early work because it was a greater expose of the flawed moral and social structures of early 20th century urban American life?  Did Wharton go to far, or was her apology simply a bend to the very societal pressures she had condemned?

Or did SWB just go “eeny-meeny-miney-mo?”

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2013 in The House of Mirth

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Stupid Question: The Husband Edition

  1. Ruth @ Experiment with The Well-Educated Mind

    May 15, 2013 at 11:21 am

    I have no idea, but now I want to read Age of Innocence. Thanks!

     
  2. retiringreader

    May 15, 2013 at 11:51 am

    Since the WEM list is chronological, I wonder if Brain thought Gatsby is the best classic of the decade of the twenties.

     
  3. Patty Sessions

    May 15, 2013 at 2:24 pm

    I had kind of figured that since HOM was the earlier book, it was the more interesting in terms of historical literary changes and whatnot.

     
  4. lauratfrey

    May 16, 2013 at 12:39 am

    I don’t know, but I’d have trouble picking a favourite between the two. HOM is much darker (that’s a good thing, for me). But AOI is just so beautiful.

     

Leave a Reply

 
