RSS

Not to Bum You Out

24 May

I’m so tired of all these women dying.  I’ve nearly lost track of them, first it was Helen, then Emma, Alyona and Lizaveta, Anna, Eustacia, and now Lily. Why?  Why must we read so much tragedy?  Why the death?  What’s wrong with a happy ending once in a while?

Then I stumbled across this article in my facebook newsfeed.  Friends, it’s worth the read (it even mentions three of our authors.)  The subject is tragedy.  The context is Christian worship.  The backdrop is our life.

If you only click on one external link today, I encourage you to choose the one above.  You can even leave the arguments about worship behind, but I’d love to know what you think about the tragedy vs. entertainment question.

Is our WEM reading list reminding you that we live in the valley of the shadow of death?  Is it drawing you face to face with the world of iniquity from which we would rather shield our minds?  Are the authors and their sin-filled worlds making you cling firmly to the Author of creation?  Is the despair of the characters wakening a vision of the evil that surrounds us outside the pages of fiction?  Or, are the novels a source of pacification and escapism?  Are the classics entertaining?  Should the classics be entertaining?

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Not to Bum You Out

  1. lauratfrey

    May 24, 2013 at 10:28 am

    I felt the same way when I finished HoM. Did she HAVE to DIE? It was just so tragic. I’ll save that link to read later.

     
    • Christina Joy

      May 24, 2013 at 3:14 pm

      I hope you enjoy it, it’s certainly helped me focus and put a less dismal argument to Wharton’s work.

       
  2. Lit~Lass

    May 24, 2013 at 1:13 pm

    Thanks for sharing that article! Reading SWB’s descriptions, it seems the WEM novels just get more depressing from here on. The article made me want to forge ahead, reading them with a new appreciation for tragedy.

     
    • Christina Joy

      May 24, 2013 at 3:13 pm

      Me too, it was just the little boost I needed to forge ahead into the dark waters.

       
  3. Ruth @ Experiment with The Well-Educated Mind

    May 24, 2013 at 8:44 pm

    Loved the article! I am guilty of complaining too much about the abundance of tragedy; but maybe SWB has a purpose for it. I definitely will be reading with a different perspective from now on. Thanks.

     

Leave a Reply

 
