RSS

Been There, Done That

29 May

It’s happened to me dozens of times.   Maybe more.   Especially back when I was teaching classroom after classroom full of kids.   Someone comes up to me.  Someone whose name I should know.  Yet, I don’t.  I’m wracking my brain, commanding it to come up with the name I know is there, but in the end, I try to smooth it over with an over-the-top smile and fake-sounding “Hi!”

But, hey, at least I care.  That counts for something, right?   I want to remember the names of everyone I meet, but sometimes, they just slip through the cracks.

I don’t think Gatsby cares, however.  The faces he meets (with the exception of The One), don’t matter to him at all.   So, I think his coping mechanism is the “old sport” moniker he gives everyone.   The first time, it might make you feel like you are his pal, a friend, a good buddy, but the fifth or tenth time?   That would get downright annoying.   Only one person in the novel ever calls him on it.   The rest are either too blinded by all the “glitter” or, like Nick, too polite to mention it.

So, are you enjoying your trip through this novel, dear reader old sport?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 29, 2013 in The Great Gatsby

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Been There, Done That

  1. Lit~Lass

    May 29, 2013 at 12:22 pm

    Great insight.

     
  2. Norma carey

    May 31, 2013 at 7:45 am

    i read the Great Gatsby a while back and could barely tolerate it. Read it again with the CCM group and devoured it – must be that getting back to some great literature put me in a more receptive move! Incidentally, my daughter Lisa, taught GG in high school and was one of the only high school teachers who looked forward to teaching it – but she had a “passion” for this novel and welcomed the challenge.

     

Leave a Reply

 
