RSS

Stupid Questions: Tour Guide Editions

01 Jun

Stupid QuestionsIf I had been on the tour of Gatsby’s home with Daisy and Nick in Chapter V I would have been that annoying tourist standing right up front raising my hand with endless questions.

We went upstairs, through period bedrooms swathed in rose and lavender silk and vivid with new flowers, through dressing-rooms and poolrooms, and bathrooms, with sunken baths – intruding into one chamber where a dishevelled man in pajamas was doing liver exercises on the floor.  It was Mr. Klipspringer, the “boarder.”  I had seen him wandering hungrily  about the beach that morning.  Finally we came to Gatsby’s own apartment, a bedroom and a bath, and an Adam study, where we sat down and drank a glass of some Chartreuse he took from a cupboard in the wall.

Firstly, why does Gatsby have a “boarder”?  I can’t imagine he needs the rent money?

Second up, what are these “liver exercises,” or do I even want to know?  One site told me it meant drinking alcohol.  As funny as that would be as a euphemism, I don’t know if I buy it.

Third on the docket, did anyone else making their way around this mansion know that an Adam study was probably some little portion of colorful, neo-classical home design inspired by the Scottish architect Robert Adam?  Bonus points to you.

And fourth of all, I had no idea that the lovely color chartreuse got its name from a monk-made liquor of 132 herbal extracts.  Wanna join me for a glass?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 1, 2013 in The Great Gatsby

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
