RSS

May I present, Mrs. Dalloway

06 Jun

Mrs. DallowayFor our 20th WEM book, A Classic Case of Madness will be reading the 1925 novel,
Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf.

If The Great Gatsby was action-filled (wild parties, affairs, and car accidents), Mrs. Dalloway is thoughtful.  Like Heart of Darkness author, Joseph Conrad, Virginia Woolf followed a “stream of consciousness” style of writing.  In WEM Susan Wise Bauer tells us Woolf “longed for a fiction that could be free, with ‘no plot, no comedy, no tragedy, no love interest, or catastrophe in the accepted style’” (WEM pg. 66).

No plot?  No tragedy? No love interest?

Seriously?

Why are we reading this book anyway?

The back of my Vintage Classics edition has a quote by author Michael Cunningham:

Mrs. Dalloway contains some of the most beautiful, complex, incisive, and idiosyncratic sentences ever written in English, and that alone would be reason enough to read it.  It is one of the most moving revolutionary artworks of the twentieth century.”

Ahhh…. Now I get it.  This is revolutionary writing.  We can look forward to carefully crafted sentences and stream of thought writing: writing as an art form.
Mrs. Clarissa Dalloway will share her thoughts, feelings, and memories with the us.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
The Details: SWB recommends the edition I’ve linked above, but you know how we feel about thrifty copies of novels.  Scour your basement shelves and used book store.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 6, 2013 in Mrs. Dalloway

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “May I present, Mrs. Dalloway

  1. dangermom

    June 6, 2013 at 6:05 pm

    Hm, I really want to read this book–not that I expect to understand it at all–but I’m slammed right now. I will TRY, how does that sound?

     
  2. Ruth @ Experiment with The Well-Educated Mind

    June 6, 2013 at 10:10 pm

    I can’t wait to get started. I just put my copy on my nightstand.

     
  3. Norma carey

    June 7, 2013 at 1:39 pm

    Life in a single day? Well, I’m
    just into it and there is no doubt in my mind that I am going to get 24 hours worth!

     
  4. michelle

    June 11, 2013 at 12:14 pm

    I’m having a LOT of trouble getting through this one. I’m hoping the audio book helps:
    https://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/virginia-woolf/id2776443?mt=11

     

Leave a Reply

 
