RSS

Remember when . . .

21 Jun

Do you know what I like in a movie?  Of course you do, you’ve read our posts about flicks like Pilgrim’s Progress, The Scarlet LetterAnna Karenina and Apocalypse Now.  But in case you’re like me, and you forget everything you’ve read or seen within seven days (and that’s probably a generous time frame, I’m afraid) I’ll remind you:  I like to be entertained.

So, did The Great Gatsby deliver?  You bet, I liked it a lot.

And that’s about all I recall because it’s been more than seven days since we’ve seen it.  And I don’t even have the good excuse of being on mega pain-killers.  So, for the next few paragraphs, I’m going to do my best to reconstruct my movie memory.  

  • I was super pleased by the screen play’s faithfulness to the book.
  • I have a weak recollection of complaining to my friends and sister that the modern music seemed out of place, and then when they all enthusiastically approved of the contemporary downbeats I immediately caved to peer pressure with some line about how it was effective in delivering the wild, visceral nature of the times.
  • I remember thinking that you have to be pretty amazing to make a pink suit look like must-have item of the summer, and Leonardo DiCaprio was.

    Look out, Jerry, I might go shopping.

  • I know I was disappointed that the striped inflatable pool chair doesn’t make an reappearance in Gatsby’s final scene.  I can’t even find a picture of it on line.  A real tragedy.
  • I was inclined to try for the eleventieth time to wear headbands.  If only the back of my head wasn’t as flat as Kansas, I’m pretty sure I could pull off Daisy’s do.

    Also, it would drive me crazy to have my ears covered and hair touching my cheek, but oh, how I love this look.

  • I was, and still am, super annoyed that Nick’s cottage was north of Gatsby’s mansion instead of south.
  • I know that we were the only ones in the theater that giggled during the scene where Gatsby and Daisy meet, making us wonder if anyone else had read the book and understood the sheer delight and cuteness of this encounter.  Then again, we were the only one’s that laughed at Oblansky’s love of buns, too.
  • And the sight of Myrtle flying in front of T.J. Eckleburg’s billboard is one I will never forget.  Not even after seven decades.

But you should go see it!  It was great!  I loved it!  Very entertaining!  Trust me.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 21, 2013 in The Great Gatsby

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
