RSS

Mr. and Mrs. Smith

02 Aug

My “favorite” parts of Mrs. Dalloway were those that involved Septimus and Rezia. It was in those sections that I tolerated Woolf’s stream-of-conscience style.  In fact, it even made sense to me when dealing with a mentally unstable veteran and his worried wife.Mrs. Dalloway 2

When I started reading Mrs. Dalloway I thought, “Now here’s a book in which I won’t have to worry about a major character dying.  It takes place in a single day.  It’s about a woman having a party!  How could Woolf possibly kill anyone?”

I was wrong.  I should have remembered Christina’s list from our blogiversary post.  That “death parts us” section is staggeringly long.  Then there was the post where she linked this article.  Since March we’ve read Heart of Darkness, The House of Mirth, and The Great Gatsby; in those stories characters kick the bucket because of illness, injury, and murder.

I’m afraid to see next year’s “death list”.

What were your thoughts about Septimus’s tragic end?

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 2, 2013 in Mrs. Dalloway

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Mr. and Mrs. Smith

  1. Ruth @ Experiment with The Well-Educated Mind

    August 2, 2013 at 10:10 am

    It did not make sense. I was under the impression that he was improving; therefore, it caught me off guard.

     
  2. Tonia

    August 3, 2013 at 8:51 pm

    I was caught off guard as well, but after reading the ending and how Clarissa thought he was “brave” for taking that step I can see what Virginia Woolf was getting at. I don’t agree with her but I do understand (a bit!) after reading her novel.

     

Leave a Reply

 
