RSS

Another murder

02 Sep

Native Son Check-In

For a time we were in a series of adulteries: Madame Bovary, Anna Karenina, The House of Mirth, The Great Gatsby.  Now it seems we’ve moved on to murders and trials: Crime and Punishment, The Trial, and now Native Son (Can I include The Great Gatsby here too?  There was vehicular manslaughter in it.).  I’m ready for something a little more upbeat.  Does anyone know anything about The Stranger?

Okay, one book at a time.  Have you finished Wright’s classic?  Please share your place in the comments.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 2, 2013 in Native Son

 

Tags: ,

8 responses to “Another murder

  1. An Experiment with the Well-Educated Mind

    September 2, 2013 at 10:05 pm

    I’m done and looking forward to The Stranger, of which I know nothing about; however, I am afraid that we’re not looking at anything upbeat. Just my feeling.

     
    • Christine

      September 3, 2013 at 4:36 pm

      Sadly, I’m afraid you are right. Do you think any of the books we have left to read will have “Happily Ever After” endings?

       
      • Ruth @ Experiment with The Well-Educated Mind

        September 4, 2013 at 5:32 pm

        I thought we were going straight downhill, but I read some of the back covers of those left, and there may be some happy endings.

         
      • Christine

        September 7, 2013 at 4:47 pm

        That’s encouraging.

         
  2. dangermom

    September 3, 2013 at 12:04 am

    I’ve got bad news for you…

    Maybe you’d like to take a little break? Read some Wodehouse for a week?

     
    • Christine

      September 3, 2013 at 4:38 pm

      Whah!
      Have you read The Stranger before? My solace will have to be that it’s brief.

       
      • dangermom

        September 3, 2013 at 11:59 pm

        I have not, but I know the basic plot. It’s kind of murdery.

         
      • Christine

        September 7, 2013 at 4:47 pm

        murdery 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
