RSS

Reminded

06 Sep

Book II
Flight

Bessie suspects Bigger has murdered Mary Dalton.  Bigger threatens to kill Bessie if she won’t help him.

“You already in it” he said.  “You got part of the money.”
“I reckon it don’t make no difference,” she sighed.
“It’ll be easy.”
“It won’t.  I’ll get caught.  But it don’t make no difference.  I’m lost anyhow.  I was lost when I took up with you.  I’m lost and it don’t matter…”

This scene gave me déjà vu.  It could have been Oliver Twist’s Nancy saying those words to her lover Bill Sikes.

Remember this scene from Dickens’ story?  Just another instance of déjà vu.
Except without the remorse.  Who’d have thought that Sikes had a redeeming quality?  He actually felt guilt for the murder he committed.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 6, 2013 in Native Son

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Reminded

  1. Christina Joy

    September 16, 2013 at 8:41 pm

    Oh yes, I had the same Sikes flashbacks. In some ways I feel that Nancy’s murder was my first, and that all other murders are judged in contrast to hers.

    Is that creepy?

     

Leave a Reply

 
