RSS

Check-in on The Stranger

30 Sep

The Stranger check-in

How are you doing with Camus?  Are you strangers?  acquaintances?  friends?

Have you had any encounters with “the nakedness of man faced with the absurd“?

I’ve already found an example of nakedness and absurdity.

I’ve also found foreshadowing.  In chapter 1 Meursault is part of a wake for his mother.  The deceased’s friends are sitting across from the not-so-bereaved:

For a second I had the ridiculous feeling that they were there to judge me.

Perhaps we’ve had too many books that end up in a court room, but when I read that sentence I  wrote “Foreshadowing?” in my book.

I’d love to hear your initial thoughts on our new novel.  Share them (and your place) in the comments.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 30, 2013 in The Blog

 

2 responses to “Check-in on The Stranger

  1. Jean @ Howling Frog

    September 30, 2013 at 10:09 am

    I’ve read two or three chapters. Weird.

     
  2. Christina Joy

    September 30, 2013 at 11:16 pm

    All these courtrooms are starting to blur together. In fact, I must only have one imaginary courtroom in my head. Everybody keeps meeting in the same one in which I participated in Mock Trial meets in High School. Talk about absurd.

     

Leave a Reply

 
