RSS

A spoiler that isn’t

07 Oct

The Stranger check-in

Okay, okay, I’ll fill in the blanks of  the quote on the back of my bookThe Stranger is a short tale.  You’ve probably finished it already.

Through this story of an ordinary man who unwittingly gets drawn into a senseless murder on a sun-drenched Algerian beach… (Vintage Books 1988)

In Book 1 chapter 3 neighbor Raymond Sintès asks Mersault to help him write a letter as part of a scheme to further punish his cheating mistress.  With certainty I marked in my book’s margin, “my prediction for the murder victim.”  Obviously she would be the “senseless murder on the sun-drenched Algerian beach“.

I was wrong.

Have you made any predictions about The Stranger that turned out to be wrong?  Share them and your place in the comments.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 7, 2013 in The Stranger

 

Tags: ,

One response to “A spoiler that isn’t

  1. Jean @ Howling Frog

    October 7, 2013 at 11:07 am

    Yep, finished. I didn’t think that the murder would happen the way it did, despite the fact that I knew it would be an Arab on the beach. And I didn’t expect the ending where it happened.

     

Leave a Reply

 
