RSS

Oops, I Forgot

08 Nov

We’ve all been there, right?  That uncomfortable conversation with a friend where it becomes painfully obvious that you’ve neglected to ask about something significant in her life.  The birthday glossed over as just another ordinary Thursday.  The date set aside to spend quality time with a loved one forgotten amid the routines of daily life.  The favor you said you’d be happy to do and then totally spaced when the time came.

I feel horrible when these oversights happen, even worse once I finally realize what occurred. I know I’ve completely bunged up, and that the one hurt by my negligence has every right to be thinking, “Man, she’s such an . . . ”

But I want to quickly butt in and say, “No, no, I’m not.  I’m just a memory hole.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 8, 2013 in 1984

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
