RSS

100 YS Chapter 1

11 Apr

My unintentional blogging break has resulted in a case of blog post hesitancy, reluctantcy even.  It is not because I don’t want to resume our online book discussion but for fear that I no longer remember how.  The treatment for my for my fictional ailment is to start by writing lists as I retrain my brain in the art of classic conversation.

100_9772One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel García Márquez

chapter 1

  • I notice that there are no chapter titles or numbers.  I’m sure this must be intentional but cannot find the reason for it.
  • The opening sentence grabs me: “Many years later, as he faced the firing squad, Colonel Aureliano Beundia was to remember that distanct afternoon when his father took him to discover ice.”   I’m intrigued.  Firing squad.  Military officer.  Ice.  When and where am I?
  • I ask my husband for a refresher on pronunciation of Spanish vowels.  I need to be able to say the character names.
  • Why are so many of the characters named the same name?!  Good thing my translation has a family tree in the front.
  • On the men’s expedition this phrase is used to describe the area–“going back to before original sin”.  It instantly makes me think of Eden.
  • Oooo  so as an infant Aureliano has magical powers.  Interesting.
  • Ice is “the great invention of our time”.  100_9755
 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 11, 2014 in One Hundred Years of Solitude

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “100 YS Chapter 1

  1. BookerTalk

    April 13, 2014 at 4:03 am

    This is a clever way of. Getting back into the groove with commenting and discussing. But now I am wondering whether I want to read this book after all. I struggle with books that have characters whose names re similar.

     
    • Christine

      April 14, 2014 at 8:30 pm

      Thank you. For some reason, making a list seems less intimidating than “real” writing. I’m not sure which I find more difficult in regards to names: multiple characters with the same name or, in the style of the Russian novels, one character having many names.

       

Leave a Reply

 
