RSS

Comfy Curiosity

21 May

 

If on a winter's nightHave you started reading If on a winter’s night a traveler?

How are we going to shorten Calvino’s title anyway?
If ?  winter’s night?  traveler?

Last week when I begrudgingly cracked the cover, I was pleasantly surprised.  Intrigued even.  Two things caught my attention right away: translator William Weaver’s note and the table of contents.

Weaver’s note:  In Chapter Eight the passage from Crime and Punishment is quoted in the beloved translation of Constance Garnett.  W.W.

Awww… I know those guys: C&P and Garnett. Remember our Russian summer?  Those were the good, old days when we looked forward to a murder mystery.  How many deaths have we experienced since then?  Nevermind.  I don’t want to know.

Seeing Garnett’s name and Dostoyevsky’s title brought comfort.  Perhaps the classic with eleven beginnings wouldn’t be the torture I imagined.

I turned the page to find the table of contents.  Half the chapters were numbered and the other half were titled.  Curiouser and curiouser.

Upon reading chapter [1], I scrawled in my book…

“Clever!  The narrator speaks directly to me as the reader about procuring the novel and getting comfy for reading.”

Hmmm.

I think I’m going to like Calvino.

 

 

 
 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Comfy Curiosity

  1. Jean @ Howling Frog

    May 22, 2014 at 12:04 am

    I started today! I think I’m on chapter 3.

     

Leave a Reply

 
