RSS

Should I Stay or Should I Go Now?

26 Feb

Hester Prynne.   Caught in adultery.   Shamed before the community.   Forced to wear a symbol of her sin on her bosom.  Raised her child in solitude.   Dealt with whispers, rumors, finger-pointing, stares and even physical suffering on at least a weekly basis.

So here is my question:  Why in the world does she stay?  Apparently there is no wording in her sentence regarding her physical location.  She could go anywhere; live anywhere.   She could leave the shame behind and start fresh somewhere new.  No one would even have to know of her sin.  I was pondering this when I came to chapter five, where Hawthorne seems to struggle with this very question.   He gives three reasons why she may have chosen to stay:

1.  First, that “…there is a fatality, a feeling so irresistible and inevitable that it has the force of doom, which almost invariably compels human beings to linger around and haunt, ghost-like, the spot where some great and marked event has given the color to their lifetime…”   He implies that her sin is the root that keeps her planted in this soil;  that she is bound by a chain of “iron links…(that) could never be broken.”  Personally, I doubt this reason.  I believe that human nature tends to choose the easy path if given a choice.   Hester must be a better person than most if she chooses voluntarily to hang around the “scene of the crime.”

2.  He also mentions that she may have chosen to stay because of the bond she feels toward her fellow adulterer.  Even if she can not be bound to him on earth, she may be bound at The Judgement.  Hmm…perhaps this is true of Hester.   Maybe just the presence in the community of her partner-in-crime gives her some comfort.   However, I think I would just feel anger and resentment toward the man who for whatever reason does not “confess” his part in the crime.

3.  Lastly, Hawthorne believes that Hester is taking up the role of martyr.   If she stays and deals with this daily punishment, it may “at length purge her soul and work out another purity than that which she had lost; more saint-like…”  In other words, she was hoping for redemption through penance.

Of all these reasons, I feel that number 3 is the most likely.   It is another human trait to think we can work out our own salvation in some way.   However, if I were in Hester’s shoes, I think I would get out of Salem as quickly as humanly possible!   Forget those judgmental gossips, hypocritical leaders and mean-spirited children!   See you later, alligator!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 26, 2012 in The Scarlet Letter

 

Tags:

5 responses to “Should I Stay or Should I Go Now?

  1. Adriana @ Classical Quest

    February 26, 2012 at 4:51 pm

    Yeah — Get out of Dodge, Hester honey!

    Did you all get the note I left in your sidebar the other day?

    I’ve decided to ditch the auto-biographies for now and take up the novels. Finished reading S.L. intro last night. Just curious — do you all have goals for completion of each novel? If so what is the deadline for S.L.?

     
    • Christina Joy

      February 26, 2012 at 6:12 pm

      Hoorah!!! Yes, I just now read your note, I only check those every couple of days, so thanks for the heads up.

      We typically don’t set deadlines, but just sort of make our way through, checking in with each other roughly once or twice a week on our status. Even though we just switched over to TSL posts I think we’ll be shooting to do a wrap up in about two weeks, although the posts may carry on a bit longer than that.

      Fellow Bloggers, please chime in with anything I’ve omitted, left unclear, or misstated.

       
  2. Tonia

    February 26, 2012 at 7:30 pm

    I recently finished reading The Scarlet Letter and had the same issue – leave town, Hester! 😉 I found it hard to set aside my notions of a current thinking and think, instead, like a puritan. Life was so different that it’s hard to see through the lens of current society. But, like today, it’s so easy to look at someone and see the “perfection”, like Arthur Dimmesdale, who, though everyone considered him a perfect icon of their puritan faith, was as much a sinner. Good book. Still processing my thoughts!

     
  3. Jeannette

    February 27, 2012 at 7:12 pm

    Adriana – welcome aboard! Tonia thanks for the insightful comment. I agree that it is easy to see the perfect exterior and forget about the inside when looking at others.

     
  4. Christine

    March 1, 2012 at 6:49 pm

    I think we’re going to have to discuss this idea in a big way at our wrap up session.

     

Leave a comment