RSS

Pillow Talk

25 Aug

Native Son may not be the best bedtime read.
Diving into the story, I was thrilled to find plot.
A plot that was easily followed.
A plot that promised a murder (so said the back of my book).
A plot where the murder happened unexpectedly close to the beginning of the story: right there in Book 1!

Upon starting the novel, I carried it around with me.  I flew through the pages, reaching the end of Book 1 at the end of the day, just as it was time to turn out the light.  I’m a Criminal Minds fan.  I confess to having seen more episodes than I’d like to admit, and almost every episode is about a murder (or two, or three).  Bigger’s murder should not have shocked me.  But it did!Native Son

Trying to fall asleep with my mind replaying the furnace scene, I blurted out to my husband,

“I should not read this book in bed!  He accidentally kills this girl.  Then he doesn’t know what to do with the body, so he puts her in a trunk, but she’s so heavy.  He carries her to the furnace room and stuffs her in the coal FURNACE!  But she doesn’t fit, so, aghhh, he chops off her HEAD so her body will fit!”

My dear husband wanting to go to sleep replies, “Don’t worry.  We have a gas furnace.  You won’t fit.”

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 25, 2013 in Native Son

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Pillow Talk

  1. Tonia

    August 25, 2013 at 10:16 am

    haha!

     
  2. Ruth @ Experiment with The Well-Educated Mind

    August 25, 2013 at 10:37 am

    Whew!

     
  3. Cheryl

    August 29, 2013 at 8:42 am

     

Leave a comment